Plans Were Meant to be Changed

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Those of you who don’t knit or crochet may not understand the concept of WIP (Works In Progress). Many of us have numerous projects languishing in the closet or tucked away in a dark corner somewhere in various stages of completion. The reasons behind this problem are many. We may start a project and then get sidetracked by a more pressing commitment, and then we may lose interest in the first project.  Or, our gauge has changed in the interim and the afghan or sweater or whatever is now skewing sideways. Or, we may decide at some point that we just don’t like how it’s working up but don’t have the heart to rip it out. There’s even a thing called Second Sock Syndrome that afflicts many knitters. When you’ve finished one sock it feels like a victory…and then you realize you still have to make another one.

So, after trying 3 different yarns on that cowl, and not liking any of them, I decided to cut bait. I still love the pattern, but I need to look on Ravelry and see what yarns others have used to get the visual effect that I want and then do something terrible…BUY that yarn!

In the meantime, I am now working on a scarf pattern called Over the Willamette, which I’ve been wanting to make for a long time. The yarn is one I’ve used before to make a pair of fingerless gloves. In less than an hour I worked 14 rows and am thrilled with how it looks. Time will tell if this will be my scarf entry for the Fair.  But, I know it won’t end up a WIP in a bag in the closet!

image

Leave a Reply

