Time to Regroup!

The Weekend

Saturday, October 4, 2014

I had a busy weekend.  I spent Saturday mostly in the car, traveling to Abilene (and back home) with friends to visit their daughter.  I was prepared, too.  I had 4 projects in my bag, along with my iPad for the patterns.  Great plan…until I realized that I hadn’t downloaded the PDFs for 2 of the patterns, and the one that was an online pattern obviously couldn’t be viewed without an Internet connection.  Luckily, I had one printed pattern with me and that was the doily using the teal thread.  I got through about 3 rounds before I gave up.  Bouncing around in the back seat makes it difficult to see size 10 crochet thread.

Since we’d gotten an early start…up at 5am!…I was ready for bed about the time I got home.  I think I was asleep by 8:30, so no more crochet for me.

Here’s a pic of the puny progress I made on the doily.

image

Sunday, October 5, 2014

Another early morning…up at 7am!…to go to the State Fair with the friends I was with yesterday.

I was going to face the beast that had defeated me in July and August and let it know I was going to be back in 2015 with a vengeance!

Big Tex was almost mocking me as we entered the Fairgrounds.

FullSizeRender

Fair Highlights:

  • Fried cheesecake!  We tried a few of this year’s food winners…Fried Breakfast for Dinner (so-so but needed some seasoning), Chicken Fried Loaded Baked Potato (not what I expected; kinda mushy), Texas Bluebonnet (basically a blueberry biscuit with whipped cream and a couple of white chocolate chips…disappointment), Fried Gulf Shrimp Boil (another disappointment…a big hush puppy with pieces of shrimp in it).  We decided that the typical Fair food…fried cheesecake, pretzels, chicken fingers, twisted taters…are the way to go.
  • Dancing / running / swimming / jumping dogs!  Need I say more?  Dogs make me smile.
  • Butter sculpture!  This year’s was an amazing life-size rendition of a herd of horses.  The photo below is just part of the entire sculpture.
    FullSizeRender(1)
  • New cars!  I don’t need a new car, but I want one.  I can’t decide if I want a big 4-door truck that lets me sit up high and see everything around me, or if I want a low, hug-me sports car with all the bells and whistles.  Either way, we’re talking more money than I’m willing to spend.  I did, however, drool on the 2015 Hyundai Genesis Coupe.  Maybe next summer when the 2016s are about to roll out I can get a decent deal on a 2015.
  • Three-wheeled Motorcyles!  There were 3 CanAm Spyder trikes on display, and I did some more drooling on the biggest, baddest one.  My second midlife crisis is calling.
  • Prickly Pear Cactus Jelly!  Yeah, I know that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but it is to me.  For those of you who know me, all I need to say is “Rodney.”  I’ve wanted some of this jelly for awhile, but the first place I’ve found it was at the Fair, so I bought some…as a Turnpike Troubadours song played in the background and I had to keep myself from crying.  Yes, I’m pathetic.
  • Creative Arts Building!  It was a bit hard to go in and see all the items that won ribbons when I hadn’t even managed to submit something this year.  But, what I saw was so inspiring!  I am really going to have to step up my game and make some spectacular items for next year.  We were a bit puzzled about how some items got Honorable Mentions when the 1st, 2nd, or 3rd place winners in those categories were, in our opinions, not as nice or as special as the HMs.  It’s all subjective, I guess.  We did concur on the Best in Show and Director’s Award though.  It was an afghan that was done in free form crochet and made up of different textures of yarn.  My pic below does not do it justice.
    FullSizeRender(2)
    There was even a broken heart in one corner:
    FullSizeRender(3)

I’m now re-energized and inspired and prepared to regroup.  I’m going to scrutinize my projects list to make sure that everything I’m planning to make is Fair-worthy.  I don’t want to make stuff just to make stuff.  I want ribbons…lots of ribbons! 🙂

Leave a Reply

