Sick, School, and Sick of School

Monday, January 12 thru Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Wow!  I can’t believe I haven’t posted here in over 2 weeks!  I was on a roll for awhile after the first of the year, and then I got sick for 2-3 days.  That totally halted my momentum.  Then school started last week, so I haven’t picked up a hook in at least 7 days.  I’ve got to get my rear in gear as the conference is just a little over 3 weeks away!  However, aside from weaving in the ends of 3 scarves, finishing up the afghan, and maybe doing another bookmark or two, I’m about crafted out for the conference.  The Texas flag afghan is not gonna be up for grabs in the raffle (did I mention that in my last post??).  Too ambitious, so it’s on the slate for the 2016 conference instead.

I have managed to complete a couple of items for swaps and such.  I’ve got a couple of bookmarks on the blocking mat, so no pics yet, but here are 2 dishcloths I made.  I am not happy with the Tunisian heart one because of the left edge and some missed stitches.  I really do need more practice before I start offering up Tunisian items in a swap!  I called it “Purple Heart”…and not just because it’s purple and has a heart on it.  It looks like it was wounded in battle!

IMG_0351_medium2

This one looks nicer but it’s not Tunisian.

IMG_0352_medium2

And here’s a bookmark that didn’t need blocking.

IMG_0354_medium2

Venetian Carnival is a cowl pattern that I started last year but didn’t like how it looked in the yarn I was using.  So, I started it with another yarn and LOVE IT!  I don’t have a purpose for it yet, but I’m enjoying how the colors are popping on this one!

IMG_0355

Oddly enough, when I showed the other one (the one I don’t like) to a friend last week, she LOVES the colors.  So, now I’ve got a purpose for that one!

When February 23 finally gets here, I will be back to Fair crafting with a vengeance.  I’m gonna enter stuff in the Hunt County Fair, come Hell or high water.

Leave a Reply

