Inching Closer to the Deadline

Wednesday, March 18 thru Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I have been crocheting during every free moment!  I’ve nearly finished Mister Whistle’s pants.  The pinstripes are done; I just have to sew the leg to close them up.  I had to set them aside though because I worked on them ’til 3am Saturday and got pretty frustrated.  According to the pattern, it seemed as though I would be working in the opposite direction…as if I were left-handed.  I read it over and over and over again and finally gave up and went to bed.  I haven’t looked at it again since, but I’ll dig it out in the next day or 2 and work on it.

I have made terrific progress though on the Gathering Leaves scarf/shawl.  I love this pattern!  I am on row 60 of 67 plus 1 row of edging.  No reason I can’t finish this by the end of the weekend!  The pics below do not do it justice.  The yarn color is a deep green with flecks of reddish brown (Knit Picks Palette in Rainforest Heather, to be exact).  I’ll get a better pic when it’s done.  The close-up is to kinda show that there are leaves. 🙂  I’m a little freaked out that I might not have enough yarn.  I should, based on the pattern, but it seems I’m always worried about this, even when I’ve met gauge.  (fingers crossed!)

IMG_0513

IMG_0514

On the subject of running out of yarn, I have to take a second to say that loveknitting.com is one of the best places to get yarn online.  They carry a good mix of brands…from “big box” Patons and Bernat to Malabrigo, Noro, Koigu, and others.  When I realized I was going to run out of the black Berroco Vintage used on Mister Whistle’s pants (because I bought Vintage rather than Vintage DK, the skeins are a little smaller), I ordered another skein of black, as well as another blue, just in case.  Then I sent them an email, asking if they could match the dye lots to the skeins I’d just purchased the week before.  I got an immediate email reply, saying the yarn would go out the next day, and the dye lots had been matched!  Each time I’ve ordered from them, the yarn has come in an attractive silky bag along with a piece of candy!  So, check them out!.

Leave a Reply

