Now What?

Tuesday, April 14 thru Friday, April 17, 2015

I turned in my items on Monday evening, and I’ll find out when I visit the Fair next weekend if I won anything. It’s a little different process from the State Fair where you know before the Fair starts if you earned any ribbons and have to pick up what didn’t place before the Fair starts. At this county Fair, everyone gets some type of ribbon…1st, 2nd, 3rd, and participation.  So, I suppose I will bring home 10 ribbons when the Fair ends on May 3, but if they’re all participation ribbons then I, technically, didn’t win anything. Stay tuned! 🙂

It sure feels weird to not spend every spare second crocheting…which is what I’ve done since at least December. I can’t slack off though because I need to line up what I need to have finished by mid-August. That’s only 4 months!

Luckily, school is over in 4 weeks. In fact, one month from tonight I will have a college degree as I graduate on May 15. It’s “just” an Associates degree, but it’s 34 years in the making! Actually, I’ve only actively pursued it for the past 7 years…1 to 2 classes a semester, with a degree plan switch about 2/3 of the way through. Kids, don’t try this at home!

This weekend I need to finish up a couple of swap items and clean my house. I also want to straighten up my yarn closet and maybe do a little destash. I’m starting to learn what yarns I like to work with, and I have some stuff I doubt I’ll ever use. Plus, I just stumbled upon a Madelinetosh (and others) 40% off sale and bought 14 skeins I don’t need but really wanted. Not all tosh as it was pretty picked over by the time I got there, but I did score 3 gorgeous skeins of Prairie (lace weight), plus a couple of DK and worsted. I’m very happy about it, but I should let 14 other skeins find new homes. Now…who shall I vote off the island? It’s gonna be a rainy, stormy weekend so I think Saturday after I have lunch with a friend I will start the selection process.

Since I don’t have any project pics to share, I’ll close with a photo of the sweet baby giraffe born at the Dallas Zoo last Friday. I’ve been peeking in on her every day since she fell…literally…onto Earth.

image

Leave a Reply

