Little of This, Little of That

Tuesday, May 5 thru Wednesday, May 6, 2015

This is the last week that I will have to juggle school with everything else!  By this time next week, all of my assignments will have been handed in, and I will have attended my last class.  For now, anyway.  I haven’t yet decided what I want to be when I grow up, so I’m not sure what I’ll do next.  It will all depend on the Benjamins.  How much money can I scrape together so I can finish up at a 4-year school?  Only the Magic 8 Ball knows!

I brought home all my County Fair items the other night, and they’re still sitting in my car.  I don’t know what to do with it all. After the Fair in 2013, I bought 2 frames for my doilies & ribbons, and it’s all sitting on my desk.  I get these ideas and then don’t have the ability (or patience) to finish.  Now that I have more stuff and more ribbons to frame or display, I guess I’m going to have to learn how to frame things correctly.  Great.  Another project.

Last month I forgot to show the Dani Beanie that I tested for the designer.  It’s a cute and easy pattern, and it can be modified to be slouchier than the way I made it.

IMG_0691_medium2

Last night I made a really fun Strawberry Coaster to include in a swap.  It’s made with crochet thread, but the pattern is so ingenious that it ends up being double-thick.  I love the look of the Front Post Double Crochet stitches, too.

IMG_0705IMG_0704

I’m working on a cat now. Yes, a cat.  I hope to finish it during lunch today.

None of this is Fair stuff, but I do a little bit of work on Fair stuff every day or so.  Emphasis on the “or so.”  I’m not super excited about any of the items I’m working on, so I get bored quickly with one and then pick up something else.  I’ve got to use my organizational skills to formulate a plan so that I can be assured of finishing what I want to make.  I do have at least a doily, a shawl, and a doll that I can enter in the State Fair, but of those 3, I think only the doily is State Fair-worthy.  I do NOT want to have to make 3 trips downtown…1 to turn in, 1 to pick up what doesn’t place, and 1 to pick up what does.  I prefer options 1 and 3. 🙂

One thought on “Little of This, Little of That

  1. Love this! Had no idea you had a blog. Congratulations on all of your fair accomplishments! I absolutely love the rose doll. (I love them all but I am going to have to find that rose doll and put it on my to do list). Congratulations on finishing 2 years of school! Woot! You definitely deserve a break.
    I also am trying to goal myself to get in the garage and clean out the chaos. Just like you, I have things that I would have in the house if I had room as well as things that I keep saying I am going to post to the sell boards. It is such an undertaking. So overwhelming, that when I look at it, I turn around and go back to my yarn. LOL You have some serious motivation from somewhere. It is working for you so keep it up! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

