Work-Crochet-Sleep-Repeat

Thursday, June 4 through Monday, June 8, 2015

It seems that each day, each week, each weekend, each month looks suspiciously like the one before.  I go to work every day, looking forward to the few hours before bed when I can crochet and enjoy being home.  Then all week I’m looking forward to the weekend when I can crochet some more and enjoy being home.  It’s not like my nights and weekends are exciting.  Believe me, there are a number of other things I’d rather be doing.  But, I do enjoy being at home, with Bella, with a hook in my hand.

So, this weekend, I crocheted and enjoyed being home.  On Friday night I piddled around and did a little of this and a little of that on some WIPs.  The felted yarn bowl is STILL drying.  (It’s so humid here.)  The rose doily has another rose attached (1 to go!).  Mister Whistle has eyes (sort of)!

On Saturday, I only left my apartment to take Bella out.  I cleaned my kitchen and did some laundry.  And I crocheted.  I finished the Eat-Play-Sleep-Repeat blanket!

image_medium2

I’m not thrilled with the border though.  The last round kinda made the edges a bit ripply.  But, it’s OK.  I’ve lived with it a couple of days and it doesn’t bother me as much as it did at first.  The State Fair guidelines for baby blankets state it must be 34″x36″ to 39″x41″.  This ended up 45.25″x30.75″.  So, it’s either going into the small afghan category (less than 50″x70″) or I’ll enter it in a county fair.  Oh, well…at least the beast is done.  2 years after I started it…and a year and a half after I last saw its intended recipient.

On Sunday I didn’t get much crocheting done as I spent most of the day with a friend.  We met for lunch at 12:30, and I didn’t get home ’til 7pm!  We obviously had a lot of catching up to do.

Tonight I’m supposed to meet another friend and then tomorrow I’ll meet the friend I was with on Sunday again (and, yes, we’ll still have plenty to talk about).  So, the next few days probably won’t bring much progress on anything crocheted.

Last night I did purchase a pattern that I am going to attempt for a clothing category at the Fair.  I’ve never made an adult-sized piece of clothing, aside from a shapeless poncho I made for my sister a zillion years ago.  Today I bought some yarn (yes, yes, yes…I know, I know) that I can use for this item.  I’m not going to officially name it here in case I decide to throw in the towel.  I’ve got to finish up a bunch of my other Fair WIPs before I can dive into this.  It’s going to require some focus…if I want it to fit, that is.

So, before I start the unnamed clothing item, I need to finish the Yellow Rose Doily, Mister Whistle, Maywood Purse, Patriotic Ripple Doily, El Cielo, and Flower Cardigan.

hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Leave a Reply

