Lucky 13

April 6 thru April 13, 2016

IMG_2168

Well, I turned in my Hunt County Fair items last night.  There were 13 pieces, which is 3 more than last year.  When I look at the picture above, I have some mixed emotions.  I recognize the time that went into it all, as well as my ability to make these things.  But, they’re just things.  They represent hours and hours of me just sitting on my couch.  On the other hand, I can’t imagine how I’d feel had I NOT done this stuff and just sat on my couch without a hook and yarn in my hands.  I think I’m having another mid-life crisis or some kind of existential breakthrough (or breakdown).  Only time will tell, I guess.

Here’s a closer look at the items that I didn’t include in the previous post.

Clothing item #4: Peacock Peaked Cap – This is the 3rd time I’ve made this pattern.  I think I’m going to keep this one for myself because I love the color, although the photo doesn’t capture it well.  It’s more teal than blue.  This was another 2015 project.  I started it in August and ran out of yarn with 5 rows to go.  After I bought another skein, I got distracted by something else and never finished it.  Hell, it took me about a month just to sew on the buttons after I finished the crocheting.

FullSizeRender (7)

Holiday item #3: Valentine Crinoline Girl Doily – While standing in line at the turn-in, I realized I never added the bow to her skirt.  I’ll do that when she comes home.

IMG_2156

Toy item #2: Rainy Day Lilly – There’s not a lot of technique involved in this one, but I love her.  She looks how I feel.  I just wish I had a yellow raincoat and lived somewhere that I’d need one.

IMG_2163IMG_2162

 

I had 1 more item that I planned to enter in the Toy category, but I ran out of time.  I underestimated the time needed to finish its big ol’ head.  I hope I don’t give up on it and throw it into the WIP box ’cause I only need about an hour and a half to finish it.

Most of these things are not State Fair-worthy as they’re not really special as far as technique or style is concerned.  But this little County Fair gives me a reason/excuse to make some of the items I’ve been wanting to make.  Then, whatever I don’t give away, I stick in a drawer in the closet.

Now it’s time to get started on the State stuff.  They haven’t released the handbook yet, so I don’t know the exact turn-in date, but it should be almost exactly 4 months from today!

 

Leave a Reply

