The Ribbons of My Labor

April 20 thru April 25, 2016

IMG_2246

First, I almost adopted a dog yesterday!  That pic is not of a dog.  That pic is of a baby goat I fell in love with and would have adopted if I had somewhere to keep it.  The dog was a terrier mix named Heidi who was super friendly and super cute.  My friend was not super supportive of the idea of me getting a dog, so when she disappeared from the tent, I figured I’d better walk away before I broke out my credit card to pay the $150 adoption fee.

Now for the results.  I didn’t sweep the categories like last year.  I also didn’t win Grand Champion.  In fact, they didn’t have signs up with the names of the Grand and Reserve Grand Champions like they did last year.  I did, however, win 2nd place overall in the Needle Arts division, which is what Reserve Grand was last year!  Woo hoo!!  The entry that won 1st (or Grand) was a gorgeous (and huge) cross stitch sampler.  Very well-deserved first, in my opinion.

Here are pics of all my items on display:

In the first pic, my items are all 4 on the top shelf, the little green purse between the afghans on the bottom left, and the blue cowl on the far right…

IMG_2241

In the second pic, my items are the sweater on the far left, the 3 toys on the left, and the 3 doilies on the top shelf…

IMG_2240

And here’s a close-up of the sweater and its ribbons:

IMG_2239

I need to find a child-size hanger if I’m going to enter that sweater in the State Fair.  It looks horrible on a regular size one.

In summary, I got 5 blue “Supreme” (1st) ribbons, 2 red “Excellent” (2nd) ribbons, 3 white “Good” (3rd) ribbons, and 3 green “Participant” ribbons.  Plus that big pink one for 2nd overall!

The sweater tied for 1st with the purse so, as far as I could tell, they didn’t award a 2nd in the Crochet-Clothing category.  When I picked up my ribbons after the Fair, I realized that they had changed my purse from the Clothing category to a Felting category I didn’t even know they had.  So, in Clothing, 1st was the sweater, 2nd was the hat, and the cowl got a participation ribbon.  I lost 3rd to the cute monkey hat in the first pic.  I lost a 2nd in the Crochet-Decorative category to, I believe, the big basket on the far right in the 2nd pic.  And I lost a 2nd in the Toys category to the trio of sock monkeys in the 2nd pic.

The only one that I feel kind of bad about is that the Yellow Roses “only” got a 3rd.  I had planned to take that one onto the State Fair, but maybe it’s not “good enough.”  I don’t mean that in a bad way; there is just so much creativity and talent in this world and some things are going to, obviously, lose out to others.  I want to make the best showing I can, so if it means making a different doily for the State Fair, then I guess I’ll have to make that sacrifice.

I’ve only got 6 or 8 other projects I’m hoping to finish by August.  What’s another one???

Leave a Reply

