Full of Ideas

July 20 thru August 22, 2016

stock-photo-89904293-new-idea-light-bulb-on-blackboard

A lot has transpired since my last post.

The best thing was spending 5 days with my niece when she visited me.  And coming here was her own idea!  She’s a wonderful person to be around, and we had fun crocheting together, hanging out on the Riverwalk in San Antonio (it just so happened I had to go down there for a board meeting so she and my friend, Jerri, joined me), and getting to know each other better.  We’ve never spent that much time alone together, and I loved it.  I miss her and look forward to our chance to do it again soon.  I’ll forever remember her saving me at the mall when I got suckered into one of those skincare stores and was given the spiel about how much better I’ll look if only I spent $300 on their products.  My niece, when asked what she thought about the miracle transformation they’d done under 1 eye (not both, mind you…just 1), told them we had to go somewhere else but we’d think it over and be back.  She’s more mature than I am, apparently!

I completed the couple of projects for the State Fair that weren’t entered in the Hunt County Fair, including the blanket based on the State Fair’s theme of Texas Agriculture. This isn’t a great pic as it was taken at night in a hotel room in San Antonio.  In order to get it all in the frame, my niece had to stand on the other bed.  When I get it back, I’ll find a fun setting and take a pic worthy of all the time and effort I put into it.  I am patting myself on the back for this because it’s the largest project I’ve ever undertaken, as well as being the first project that wasn’t just following a pattern.  I actually had to THINK!

image_medium2 (2)

The other item I made specifically for the State Fair was this Fall Splendor Doily.  I’m going to give it to my sister in honor of all the Thanksgivings we have spent together, which has become my favorite holiday due to the family time.

IMG_2892

I also accomplished some goals during the Ravellenics.  In total, I finished 6 WIPs, completed 2 new projects, and frogged 5 items.  That last one may not be a big deal to some folks, but when you have a laundry basket full of WIPs, plus 2 big project bags with WIP afghans in them, it’s very freeing to let go of something you worked on but know you won’t finish.

One of the items I was going to frog turned into a completed WIP.  It was supposed to be a big table centerpiece, but for various reasons I didn’t finish.  As I was ripping it out, I realized that if I ripped back to a certain point, it was a perfectly acceptable large doily.  So, it got blocked and now I have a big doily (although nowhere to put one).  It measures 22″ across!

image_medium2 (3)

I also finished the lamb toy that I started making for the County Fair but ran out of time to complete.  It’s inspired by this news story.  (Warning: it’s very graphic so do not read if you are overly disturbed by violence to children.)  I was asked what I am going to do with the toy.  I thought about keeping it or giving it to my sister, but I’m thinking I may try to track down the girl’s grandparents and give it to them.

image_medium2 (4)

Here are some other items I’ve finished in the last couple of weeks.

A stuffed Gummy Bear.

image_medium2 (5)

A Kooky Owl (posing with a Kooky Cat).

image_medium2 (6)

A scarf I tested for the designer.

image_medium2 (7)

A pair of Barefoot Sandals.

image_medium2 (8)

A cowl that was going to be for my sister but I’m keeping it because the squirrels aren’t as obvious as I’d like them to be for her.  Also, after taking this picture, I was trimming some of the fuzz off the edge and snipped right through some stitches!

image_medium2 (9)

I’ve made a lot of stuff this year.  Over 140 items!  That’s the most productive I’ve ever been in my life.  And there’s still 4 months left to go.

If you are interested in seeing all my projects, look at my What Have I Done? page.  Although, don’t look right now because it’s not updated yet. 🙂

Also, I am going to scratch the Where’s the Pattern? page and link all the patterns from the photos page.  Again…that’ll be later.

I also have plans to do the following:

  • A “One a Day” project that involves organizing and de-cluttering in my apartment.  I’m going to go through 1 drawer, cabinet, box, etc. per day and get rid of a bunch of stuff.  I’ve lived in this apartment for 4 years, and there is stuff I haven’t touched, unless it was to move it out of the way.  My desk, kitchen cabinets & drawers, bathroom cabinets & drawers, boxes in the closet & the garage…all of it is going to be evaluated for its need/love/value.  Whatever doesn’t make the cut goes to the Dumpster or gets donated.  I know y’all are dying to see how this progresses (yeah, right), so I’ll post Before & After pics…if it’s not too embarrassing!
  • A “Stash Down” project that involves using up some yarn.  I’ll do this via a trick a friend posted on Ravelry.  I’m going to use the tools on the site to sort my stash by the least yardage to the most.  I’ll weed out mini skeins, cottons that I use for all sorts of things, and yarns I’m going to use for dyeing.  Then I’ll start making stuff.  The first skein is going to actually be a skein of Red Heart Sassy Fabric.  What better time to use it up than right before Christmas?  After that is a leftover skein of some pretty purple bulky yarn that will make a nice bowl to store stuff in.

image_medium2

  • An “Appreciate the Gifts” project that involves taking the list of patterns I’ve been gifted on Ravelry and, starting with the oldest, actually USE the patterns to make the items I at one point was really excited about making.  I actually started this in May when I made Mr. Moustache Cat.  The next oldest gift was received in June, 2013 and is a lovely lacy scarf by one of my favorite designers, Julie Blagojevich.
  • And, I’ll start planning my projects for the Hunt County Fair in April, 2017 and the State Fair of Texas 2017.  And, while we’re at it, maybe even the Ravellenics for the 2018 Winter Games!

Wish me luck!  And I wish you luck in meeting your crafty goals!

 

 

Leave a Reply

